• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Gamekeeper turned poacher - or something

I

inzie

Founding Member
Hi, this is the first time I've posted anything about my mental health - yikes, where to start?

I'm a senior social worker in Scotland - very likely to be "I was a senior social worker in Scotland" soon.

I've had a number of lengthy periods off work over my 15 years of social workering - diagnosed (wrongly as it turns out) with depression. In recent times I really pushed the professionals around me to get that Holy Grail of an official diagnosis.

My background is in psychology and social work so I went hotfoot to try for that self-diagnosis stuff.

When I was 12 my mum died of cancer - If you're willing to share a secret, I was the favourite. This all went a bit belly up as I watched her die at home. After her death my dad pursued his favourite hobby (alcoholism) and things took a bit of a turn for the worse. I became the smelly kid at school and went from being one of the high fliers to er, one of the low diggers (Desperately seeking an opposite there) - I lived with my brother who was a year older and we kind of made the best of it. I went to my sister (16 years my senior) for help - she lived away from home and had a family of her own - She told me Dad had been sexually abusing her since she was 8 and - proceeded to sexually abuse me.

I did my degree in psychology then went into social work so that I could be there for other people - because no-one had been there for me. On reflection this may not have been the most sensible reason to go into social work.