• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

For the benefit of jackskellington.

What is your experience of bi-polar?

• I suffer mostly from mania with some (or few) depressive periods.

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • I suffer mostly from depression with some (or few) manic periods.

Votes: 4 57.1%
  • My moods quickly cycle.

Votes: 2 28.6%
  • My moods take some time to cycle.

Votes: 2 28.6%

• Total voters
Rorschach

Rorschach

Founding Member
Thought I'd open a thread where we could discuss our personal experiences of affect/mood change. Jackskellington was saying in another thread that her mania and depression cycled rapidly. I have no experience of this as mine usually have a good distance between. I was thinking it might be worthwhile if any of you have similar experiences for her (or others) to hear about them...

(multiple choices of the four options, i.e. two of the four, allowed)

Last edited:
jackskellington

jackskellington

Founding Member
Thank you :)
I look forward to reading some opinions

daffy

daffy

Founding Member
Although not classed as rapid cycling as my highs are not as bad as they were (due to Depakote) But i still have at east 2 a year when i get into problems but the depression i have seems to be there virtually most of the time. I get several times a day when i feel unable to cope, and its then that i fear the most in case i do any thing ,then it will fade again.

I know i suffer with anxiety and take buspirone and inderol for that and they have helped but nothing seems to alleviate the depression. I am on the max dose of sertraline but that doesnt seem to work.

Im not sure if its because ive been on them for a while but any advice on how to ease the depression would be appreciated:tea:

Rorschach

Rorschach

Founding Member