• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

First time getting help

V

Venne

Hey guys,

I'm new here. I just wanted to ask you about how you manage or managed to get help with your depression.

I realized I have depression a couple of months ago (well, I'm still not entirely sure, because I'm not a doctor and it's all based on my research online), and it's something I'm going through for the past 3-4 years, I'm 20 btw. I finally took the courage to see a GP, it was my first time ever visiting a GP in the UK, because I moved here about half a year ago. To be honest, I wasn't very satisfied. Hell, I even felt a lot worse after the visit.. I guess I brought it all on myself, probably expected too much, like getting immediate help, or like a cure potion lol. Yet I felt that I wasn't really taken seriously enough. Basically, the advice was getting enough exercise every day and eating properly, which I have problems with. I was also advised to contact some local mental health agencies or the uni that I'm in. Also, I was told to look at some websites.

I mean, I knew that stuff already, but.. It's not that I can actually make myself do it. I feel like I need help asap, but the next visit is only in 3 weeks. I mean, do I have to SH to be taken seriously with depression :D?

I don't feel like I can do all this stuff on my own, and I can barely cope with assessments and stress at University. Basically, what I wanted to ask you guys is, how did you get help? What was the process? Is a GP enough? Or did you get a psychotherapist, join groups, forums etc? It's all just a bit overwhelming for me I guess, there are so many resources available and so many different routes to choose from, so I feel a bit paralyzed..

Sorry for the long post! :p

Last edited by a moderator:
C

Crazykool2020