First post, not sure what to expect but would like help?

L

Louise1990

I'll try and keep this short, I've had problems with my mental health for as long as I can remember. And it's very common for mental health and addictions and I've been abusing alcohol for about 9 years.

I drink myself to sleep every night, well... that's why I started drinking in the first place, now of an evening I guess I'm drinking to feel.... different? I suppose. It's hell in my brain and the alcohol just makes everything quieter I suppose.

I know I need to stop as this will only exacerbate my 'issues'

Has anyone else out there been like this and managed to give up alcohol? How did it make you feel to start with, and later on? can you drink socially or given up completely?

I did go to an alcohol support place, but apparently because I'm not getting shakes, drinking first thing in the morning or anything that severe, I don't fall into the category of people they help.

Sorry that was longer than expected, any help or anything would be appreciated, thank you

Foxjo

Foxjo

Forum Safety Team
Forum Guide
Hi Louise and welcome to the forum! :welcome:
Hopefully some members will come across your thread and offer some advice.
I just wanted to pop by and say hello
Hugs
Fox

blacksmoke

blacksmoke

hello Louise1990
yes alcohol i have used this over the years to self medicate. it kinda helps with the anxiety but the depression is so not helped by it. i try not to do this more than 2 times in the week. and this is not every week it can be weeks before i think about needing to drink. i am a low user but i have been habitual. as in 2 decades. as you know alcohol can creep up on you.

so in a way i have been walking a tight rope of managing with and without alcohol. for me it made me feel sleepy and in the early days it also affected my hearing lol everything seemed much quieter.