Feeling so alone

C

Cleopatra_

Hi there everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I hope ye are all doing as well as ye can be. I guess I'm posting here because I was recently diagnosed with BPD. I struggle with loneliness and feeling like I don't have anyone in the world, even though I do have a couple of friends and a partner. I spend most of my time checking my phone to see if someone has messaged me and I get agitated when I see that nobody has. On the other hand if I have a few messages at times I feel overwhelmed like everyone wants something from me that I can't give. I guess I'm just looking for someone to say "Yeah I get that".

Thanks,

Cleo

BPDevil

BPDevil

I used to feel and do this all the time, I found that it stemmed from wanting to be wanted by specific people I cared the most about

Usually others associate feeling lonely with wanting more friends, but that wasn't the case. If someone I wasn't that close too talked to me I would still feel incredibly lonely, but if someone I wanted attention from did it would make my day, so I do get it

I guess that's why they say quality over quantity

soulsearcher

soulsearcher

for a start welcome to the forum :)

im married and i have BPD but i also suffer from loneliness,
i think with BPD sometimes you want people around and sometimes you just dont

C

Cleopatra_

I used to feel and do this all the time, I found that it stemmed from wanting to be wanted by specific people I cared the most about

Usually others associate feeling lonely with wanting more friends, but that wasn't the case. If someone I wasn't that close too talked to me I would still feel incredibly lonely, but if someone I wanted attention from did it would make my day, so I do get it

I guess that's why they say quality over quantity
Thank you so much for your reply BPDevil. You are so right, if someone I don't really want to talk to messages me then I still feel lonely but if it's someone I care about it lifts my whole mood.