Feeling anxious

J

JSB

Hi, just wondered if anyone could give advice on how to avoid exaggerating scenarios to the worst possible, but unlikely, outcomes?

For example, my latest bout of anxiety is related to fieldwork I completed last week, in which my PhD supervisor came out to see me. Baring in mind that I am a first year PhD student, and this is my first project that I am leading, I was criticised for certain aspects of how I undertook it (such as note taking). During the trip my supervisor emphasised that his motive was to guide me and apologised for sounding harsh, while emphasising that critical comments were aimed to underline the importance of doing it correctly for future reference, so deep down I know it wasn't anything ultra-serious.

However, it has not alleviated worries fully and I now have a meeting with him tomorrow to discuss the fieldwork and how it can be improved for future cases. Like I say, I know that this is not going to be an attack on me or anything, and is done with the best intentions. However, the irrational part of me has me anxious over this and envisaging scenarios in which my worst worries come true, and my low opinions of myself are met by others. I am perhaps paranoid that the negative opinions I hold of myself, where I think I am useless or not good enough, will be matched and that this will be the beginning of a slippery slope towards failure. It is affecting how I am right now, as I am struggling to motivate myself to do anything due to constant intrusive thoughts and worries.

Like I say, there is a part of me that knows that this is melodramatic and ridiculous, but how do I keep it at bay so that it doesn't effect my life as it is doing right now, both for this instance and for future occurrences where I may feel like this?

J

JSB