• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

failing therapy and scared of myself

doodles

doodles

(The following must be the most ridiculous post ever!)

I’m a 22-year-old student and I guess I have been more or less depressed all my life.
After something like a breakdown I’m currently living with my parents again. Once a week I see a psychotherapist.

This is the first time I’ve been in therapy and I wouldn’t be if my parents hadn’t intervened. I simply couldn’t reach out because I don’t feel I deserve help even though I don’t know anymore how to cope by myself.

The problem is that I get completely tongue-tied whenever I sit in therapy. I sort of blank out, fade, am no longer aware of myself and am clueless as to why I’m there. I hear myself blithely declare I feel fine. Afterwards all my misery comes rushing back amplified by the frustration and the guilty conscience I get from wasting the therapist’s time. The only relief I find from all the despair, self-hatred and anger is in self-harming.

Also I’ve secretly been struggling with eating issues since puberty. For some reason now I’m back with my parents my eating is totally out of control: My weight is dropping and I can no longer deny the damage I’m inflicting on my body. On the one hand I’m scared of myself, on the other hand it feels like exactly the right way to treat myself and, in a way, to hang on to myself.

I wish I could tell the therapist about this or about all the other stuff I’m going through but every time I’m there everything is so surreal and I’m afraid she wouldn’t believe me or take me seriously. (In the first session she asked some questions because she thought I looked skinny but I couldn’t admit anything then as my father was there with me.)