Experiences of Employment

D

DomPage

Founding Member
Dear All,

I am currently in the process of writing an extensive article on our experiences of employment - some of the problems we face, challenges in day to day work and stigmatisation... Basically, I would like to construct the whole thing out of personal stories from us all! I have been writing the background for a few years now but really want to engage in real life experiences. Just wondered really if anyone would like to tell their story - it can either be written and sent or we could discuss them in person or even over the telephone! Well I am looking for around fifty people in total... I have written mine and I have to say it was a theraputic experience!!! It was the first time I verbalised my mental health problems and some of the stigma I had faced!

Well anyway.... Id really like your help so message me if you are interested and we can arrange meetings telephone calls or ways you could contribute! You will of course be given editorial rights etc!!!

I just hope this is an opportunity to discuss what its like both in work and looking for work!! Anyway rant over! look forward to hearing from you! If you know someone who might be interested let them know!!

D

Dollit

Hi Dom - I'm a touch busy this week but I will write something down. I spoke at a government conference last year on destigmatising mental health problems in the workplace. The other key speaker was a guy from BT - wow they do wonderful things there. Some places are fantastic until you acknowledge them and others just don't give a damn from the outset. :tea:

Rorschach

Rorschach

Founding Member
Hey Dom, I've returned to work and it was a bit of a long old slog, and has it's problems at times; I'm really quite good at biting my lip...until I'm not :unsure:

I'd be happy to write a few words on my return to work etcetera.