• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Exceptionally rapid mood changes.

C

CabbageMama

I posted just now, but thought this might be better in its own thread. Does anyone else not have a middle ground? It’s all very well being told and the internet saying that is what I should be aiming for, but I have no experience of trying to find it. When I feel low, and it is always a hideous type of low, I do all I can to stop feeling that way. Which leads me to high. It is such a relief, I don’t question the contrast, am just grateful. Then it is a comfortable feeling that I have friends and sparkle, I enjoy doing things, I can do what I set my mind to and my Life is actually going to be ok. There is nothing in between before I am on my knees sobbing and doing all I can to remind myself I have kids, responsibilities and absolutely shouldn’t do anything to harm myself today because the thoughts to make everything stop are so strong. I am feeling like that now, can tell myself it won’t last forever, but I am not able to, have never got in to a middle, normal in between state after feeling like this. I go from terrible, to, oh hey - awesome! From awesome back to terrible.

L

lifecangetbetter

yeah i understand how you feel. i RAPIDLY change my mind and mood all the time. ive been told im extreme. hang in there. some days are worse than others

soul searching

soul searching

That happened to me once, really weird. i was in a terrible mood and then a great mood and it changed in like a split second. My diagnosis is schizoaffective depressive type.

L

lifecangetbetter

its intense that our mind can change our perspective sooooo much. the mind is fascinating

C

CabbageMama