• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Everything is going well, yet I have never been so unhappy.

P

PauseCheck

It's strange to be at a place in life where many things are going measurably well, and yet I feel so close to the edge.
I'm in line for a pretty good promotion with a nice pay bump, my relationship is moving along nicely; I completed an advanced degree in my country, and it just doesn't feel as if any of it is enough.

I've struggled with anxiety and depression for many years--a laundry list of such things--and I've pushed to get myself to a place in which I appear to be a well-functioning person. But it all feels like a performance.

If we are placing things on a scale of 1-10, I feel like my normal baseline is only ever a 5 or 6, and the highest peak might be a 7. There seems to be a very narrow range of "good" that I feel. I am living life covered in cellophane.

I had visited a therapist some time ago, but it was a complicated experience. Younger at the time, I found the therapist I visited to be condescending, and it became apparent that she was just leading me through one-size-fits-all exercises. Some helped, I'll admit, but others just felt more insulting than anything. She discontinued appointments when she said I was doing well.

I'm just not sure where to go from here. The last several years have been lived on auto-pilot, and, as the years progress and things look better, I only feel worse.

I would like to be clear that I am not considering taking my life. I'm simply depressed.

qwynie Rose

qwynie Rose

Hi there.

The thing with depression is it's a beast. It doesn't care who you are or what your social status is, how well you're life appears to be etc.

You say it's some time ago since you visited a therapist but maybe you weren't a good fit for each other. Maybe it would be a good idea to seek out a different one now.