Ever wondered..why am I doing this?

Suddenleigh88

Suddenleigh88

Hey group,

So I was invited to an all female gathering at a friend's house recently. I had been invited well before the event, so I knew there would be some women there that don't like me. (As in this woman has in no uncertain terms told me that she actually doesn't like me or want me near her...not just me imagining she doesn't like me. Lol)

So, i was anxious going into this event. But i really like the woman hosting so i figured, fuck that one person...and went.

Well, everything was ok. I was a bit shakey when we arrived. But nothing totally out of sorts other than some serious nervous sweating...then out of nowhere I found myself telling a story as if it were true...when it super wasn't. I've never done this before and I immediately hated myself for doing it. It wasn't even something that mattered. Now I'm home obsessing over it. Why would I even do that? Was it just anxiety? Was I just looking for something interesting to say? I have no idea. But I'm mad at myself for it.

Has anyone else ever found themselves so anxious in a social setting that they just started making stuff up for no reason? Then beating yourself up for it later?

Part of me wants to come clean to the hostess, but i don't want her thinking I just lie about stuff for no reason all the time either.

What should i do? How should I handle this? Am I just making something out of nothing?

J

Jules5

Wow you came out with the truth. Good job. Things like this happen. Now that you are aware just stay quiet next time. Observe and you will see behaviors like ours. And then feel compassion.

Suddenleigh88

Suddenleigh88

Thanks. If I'm not thought of poorly for being an obvious nonsense story maker, and invited again, I'll try to do that. Quiet is often hard for me. I'm working on it.

Bizzarebitrary

Bizzarebitrary