• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

ESA work assessment

D

DizzieDiva

I have suffered clinical depression for as long as i can remember and came out of a long relationship a year ago.

I have been claiming JSA and ESA since October 2010 and was ordered to attend a capability for work assessment back in February.

Their decision has since come back to me and they have given me 6 points and therfore i do not qualify to recieve ESA anymore, resulting in my benefits being stopped.

I feel insulted that their decision was based on a 10 minute assessment with a doctor that has only met me that once. The male doctor did not appear interested in my illness at all, but typed away on his computor, taking notes, asking me questions i did not feel relevant to my illness.

I now have the stress of appealing their decision which is adding to my depression and anxiety.

Have anybody had the same experience or have any advice please

shaun3210

shaun3210

The same thing happened to me when I had my last medical around this time last year and they give me 9 points, I should have scored at least 14 points and a couple more open to interpretation. going over the questions he marked me 0 on a couple where laughable looking back.

I wrote this in my blog after I got home from the, I felt the doc who did my interview wasn't interested either:
one thing I did notice I was given very little manovering space to answer the questions he asked compared to the last medical I had, he seemed to want a either a yes/no answer, while on the first medical even tho the same questions were asked I felt more able to fully answer in detail, which reflected how I am more accurately.