• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

We are an actively moderated forum. We work hard to keep the forum safe.

To access many more features and forums please register now

Driving phobia

I

iwilldobetter

Hi, this is my first time posting on this website!

Here's the story: I started learning to drive as soon as I could (but was never that keen to do so). I was never comfortable driving, even with the instructor - but figured that was normal as a new driver. After about a year, I passed my test on my first attempt, and shortly after left for university.

Cut to 3 years later and I hadn't sat in the drivers seat since the day I passed my test. I felt that same dread I had when I used to have my lessons. I practiced in a quiet industrial lot at first then I think moved onto normal roads, always with a passenger. I always felt stressed when I was driving, but I wasn't sure how much of that was normal new driver nerves and thought that it'd go away the more I drove. I kept having 'bad' experiences on the road, e.g. getting stuck in a parking lot, being shouted at by another driver and I just would feel more anxious about going out every time one of these incidents occurred, and would avoid driving if at all possible.

I even took a lesson with 2 different instructors (one of which took me on the motorway), who said there was nothing majorly wrong with my driving. But two years of on and off driving (mostly off), and I feel more anxious than ever about it. If I could get away with not driving I would have given up by now, but it would mean fewer jobs I can apply for, and also feeling like a burden whenever I want to see my friends. I feel this immense pressure to overcome this phobia as it feels like it's putting my entire future on hold.