• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Driving and anxiety

E

enjoydriving

Firstly, hello. This is my first post.

I really enjoy driving, but constantly worry my driving being caught on dashcam and reported... I don't even drive dangerously and I feel I'm a fairly good driver.

Today, for example, I overtook someone on the left along a one way street (perfectly legal). I pulled back into the right hand lane and they flashed me... don't know why because I didn't cut them up or anything. It has been constantly on my mind and I've been watching the dashcam footage back a few times and still can't find anything I done wrong.

I posted the footage on a driving group on Facebook, and someone highlighted that I was a little above the speed limit... I hit 33mph on a 30mph road whilst overtaking (not intentionally or knowingly!). Another highlighted it was dangerous driving to overtake on the left (it isn't in this circumstance) and that I could be prosecuted. I deleted it pretty much straight after...

It's made my anxiety flare up really bad. I'm thinking the worst, like I'm going to get reported to the police.

All this nonsense and constantly worrying takes the enjoyment out of driving. It sounds silly I know, but does anyone else experience the same?

L

lemontree

Hey,

I think that if you feel you drive safely and you keep a dash cam to prove your innocence in case anything did happen, then you have nothing to worry about. It sounds like you know your road rules well and in all honesty it's very difficult to stay at exactly the speed limit unless you have cruise control so I wouldn't worry about the "speeding" - people are just being nit-picky.