• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Dont know how to help her

V

Violet

I am a support worker/personal asistant to a 20 year old girl with schizophrenia. I have been working with her for about 9 months but have recently become very concerned as i have found out she is using class a drugs, namely pills and cocaine. Its not regular, as far as im aware, but it has happened on a few occasions in the last few months. She drinks quite heavily which, although i have tried to explain that drinking might not be the best thing to do with the meds she's on, she doesnt seem bothered about. My worry is that i have no one to talk to about this. If i tell her parents i dont think there's anything they will be able to do plus it will ruin the trust she has in me, and i dont have any kind of link with her mental health team. Its very frustrating as i really want to help her but she doesn't seem interested in getting better, she just wants to be a 20 year old girl having fun with her mates and getting trashed. I dont know much about the meds she's on but i know she's on alot (i think anti psychotics, sleeping pills and mood stabilises) and i cant be good to be doing drugs. Part of the reason she has ended up with all the mental health issues she has was due to doing drugs when she was very young. Im just so worried, not just about her doing more damage to her brain but also about how dangerous it is to be doing these drugs. She gets herself into some terrible situations sometimes, her male friends are less than desirable and i worry about something bad happening. When i ask her about it she says that she feels good when she's drunk or on drugs, which of course im sure she does, i've been there i know how it feels but she doesnt seem to understand the after effects. For the last 2 days