• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Don't even know where to start, dementia? Bipolar? Shizo?

M

morrillt

So I am not sure exactly where to start, my 34yo sister has a very strange set of conditions which are deteriorating. I studied psych in college and can read the DSM, its almost like she has a bit of everything, seriously. There is so much going on we are struggling to know where to start, pls help!

Bi Polar - Check she has a ton of mood swings that have ranged to manic episodes getting her hospitalized. The manic episodes tend to go to completely psychotic / schizo levels, where she thinks she is in another dimension, dead etc. She also swings into depression, puts on weight, sleeps excessively.

Attention deficit Disorder - Check she is constantly on a minute to minute basis starting things and not finishing them, starts cleaning than gets impulse interrupted to do something, stops whats she is doing starts something else.... just literally goes around in circles. Forget about holding a job, no sense of time, always late. This started as just an artistic flaky temperment in her early 20's and is progressing to a level where it almost looks like dementia now in her early 30's.