• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Does this mean hearing voices? I would just like clarification

T E_90

T E_90

Hi,
I'm new in this and I can't get my head around it.

More than once I've heard a voice in my head, but as I never had it before,
I don't know if this can be considered hearing voices or not, I'm ignorant on the subject and the psychiatrist himself
hasn't pronounced himself about it yet.

The first time was a calm voice, inside the head, like hearing my thought without being mine,
cause I wasn't controlling it (I don't know how to explain) I just answered to it.
In the meantime, knowing it was absurd, not real and that it came from my unconscious.
This lasted an hour, distracting me from conversations and from what I was doing.
I heard the same voice another time, while I was thinking about something that bothered me,
this voice answered making a joke about it, ridiculing what bothered me, which made me smile,
but realizing it was absurd and I must have looked like a total idiot.
But the feeling was still that it came from my head, without deciding anything.

Second time I was in bed and I started to hear this man yelling at me (just a scream of pure anger)
I didn't hear it on the outside, in the room, but inside my head. Constant and insistent, which lasted an entire minute,
(I had to listen podcasts to distract myself, given the feeling of guilt and discomfort it left me. It usually helps me to listen to TV broadcasts and documentaries, shows etc., I love it as much as music).
But nonetheless, it left me deep disdain and guilt, like I made a big mistake and deserved to be yelled at.
It's such a strange feeling, since I had already heard this scream of anger as a child only once, when I had a very high fever.