• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Does being diagnosed schitzophrenic (hearing voices ) stop you from driving under dvla regulations ?

H

harvey

Does being diagnosed schitzophrenic (hearing voices ) stop you from driving under dvla regulations ?

I have recently been treated by a psychiatrist for hearing voices and he thinks i have mild psychosis or possibly schitzophrenia.
As i still drive regulary and havent had a single problem with my illness whilst behind the wheel, do i have to inform the DVLA in the uk ? ?
I work full time as a staff nurse and dont have any problems at work as i rarely hear them during my shifts or when driving , ,just when i am alone at home, trying toget to sleep or when i am out shopping etc.

I am not on any medication for hearing voices as yet and dont know if that will affect the dvlas decision if i need to go on any in the near future however, i have been on antidepressants for 4 years, ,and fentanyl patches painkillers for my bad knees for the last 12 months and am still driving daily without any problems at all.

Where does the law stand on all this ??

Would be nice to hear back from anyone else who has been, , or is still,, in a similar position.

Lozzi_1004

Lozzi_1004

Hi :)
Have you been diagnosed yet or is your pdoc still thinking?

As far as I'm aware (could be wrong, don't quote me!) you only have to inform the DVLA if you've been diagnosed and/or have been put on medication. They'll send you a form out which you fill in and send back. They then get in touch with your GP/pdoc who says whether he thinks you're still capable to drive.

I had trouble a while back with the DVLA. But it's sorted now.

Lozzi
:flowers:

John A

John A

Founding Member