• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Doctors need help too

G

GP123

Hi,
I won't go into lengthy detail as this has been on going for probably 20 years on and off.

Currently I have 2 young children (4 and 1) and I feel well and truly broken. Every day if I get time to myself my thoughts turn to suicide. I am too scared to do it and fear what it would do to my children and husband. But at the same time every day is a struggle.

I am a doctor. I know what I should do. But once I tell someone exactly where I am at it is in my record and out there and there won't be much support for me in the work place. So I feel stuck.

I just want to express this. To write it out. Because I don't want to burden my husband with the extent of this. I feel like I am ruining the lives of my family and nowhere else to turn.

Foxjo

Foxjo

Hi and welcome to the forum!
You should find it friendly and supportive here.
You are not alone in your struggles.
I am a big believer in talking therapies- can you self refer yourself?
You think you are a burden but thats just the depression talking. It makes you feel like that when in truth there is no facts to base this on.
You really need to start talking, we are all here to listen
Hugs
Fox

G

GP123

Hi Fox,
Thank you for replying.
There's great long waits locally (literally over 6 months!).
I had counselling when this escalated during my second pregnancy last time and found it just made things worse - the counsellor told me that I essentially needed to forget how bad my childhood was and move on which is so much easier said than done. It felt like the bravest hardest thing I did when I asked for help that time and I felt snubbed.
I've booked myself to see my own GP in a few weeks and then hopefully work up the courage to just ask for medication I just worry what that will mean for my career (and then my family).