Do you answer your voices back or ignore

A

Amyjane8812341

So I am new to hearing voices and have found is so upsetting. I started hearing it say hello ... hello amy over and over. Then it kept saying do you know why I am here. Apart from telling it to go away I have not said anything back .
Do you talk back or ignore your voices ? I am worried if I answer back it going to get worse ?
Many thanks amy

soulsearcher

soulsearcher

hey amy, sometimes i ignore them and sometimes i answer back to them just depends on my situation and mood to be honest...

the psychologist said they can make you say or do anything so dont give them the power

D

DominatingBull

I talk to my voices though sometimes I don't want to . The good voices are really fun to talk to and I think of them as spirit friends . The bad voices aren't worth talking to but I have to tell them to leave me alone . I used to not talk to the voices but they only got worse and I ended up screaming at them repeatedly for a couple years and got locked up repeatedly . But now I'm on some better meds - lithium and risperidone and I haven't been locked up in 10 years !!!
But to tell you the truth I don't know if talking to them or not talking to them is better - I'm just used to talking to them and it's easier .
My care team said years ago that " it's allright if you talk to them , as long as you're allright by it " .
Good thread !

A

Amyjane8812341

Thanks both for getting back to me. The voice I have been having does not sound nice or friendly. I am worried I have let a bad spirit in . If I talk to it I am worried what it is going to say and if I don't talk to it I wonder if it will ever go away.
I really did not want to tell anyone as I thought they would put me in hospital but I am glad I told my CPN.
He said that it's just my mind playing games and it's not real but I find it so hard to understand how my brain can make a voice that sounds like a old man when I am a 30 year old lady .

D

DominatingBull