Do men find it hard to talk about their illness

A

Apotheosis

It isn't my ability to talk about my illness that is hard. I imagine that the difficulties I have are common, & multi faceted. Most people don't understand or want to listen about someone talking in depth about psychotic content. With depression, & many forms of mental illness; there is very much the public attitude of 'just get on with it & stop moaning'.

Where exactly do I go, or are people meant to go, expect for MH forums, & others who have been through the same things; to find people that will listen impartially & non-judgementally? Exactly, it's no wonder people don't discus this stuff.

cloudberry

cloudberry

Founding Member
Yes.

Yes they do.
Why show you are vulnerable when you are supposed to be invulnerable?

I was a therapist before all this. And I know a few things about men privately and ex professionally.

Its very hard for men to admit they need help or need to talk.

I'm sending you a big hug. And so glad I am not a man. As I know, even from my own dad, how hard it can be when you are down.

cloudberry :grouphug:

A

Apotheosis

Its very hard for men to admit they need help or need to talk.