• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

For more features and forums

Do I Need help?

D

Dew1

Hello. I am writing this because I have been forced to deal with a problem that I have been denying for years. I am forty years old and for as long as I can remember I have had difficulty in "thinking logically". I try to put up a good front but inside I just feel like I'm just fooling everyone, even my wife. I feel very absent minded. I work in retail as a manager so I often have to accomplish many things. If my boss gives me a list of things to accomplish, i have to write them down or I'll forget to do them. And if I don't look at what I wrote down, I still forget. Also, I have always had problems having conversations in social situations. I feel awkward and can't keep a conversation going and I feel the person that I'm talking to start to feel uncomfortable. The reason that I say I have been forced to deal with it is because I am in the teaching credential program. Although I feel that I possess the intelligence, teaching is about communicating and so many little details. If I can't get help in sorting these things out, I don't think that I could do it. My question is, who do I talk to? A doctor? A psychiatrist? What causes this? Is it a chemical imbalance? Will medication help me think straight? What's my first step? Any advice would be appreciated.

daffy

daffy

Founding Member
Hi Dew :welcome: glad youve found us. Although we ant solve your prolem for you quite often just having someone to listen can be enough. Have you always felt 'absent minded' or is this something thats been devolping over the years. Your obviously intelligent to gain a managers position and i wonder if its more about low self esteem.