• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Difference between borderline personality disorder and borderline personality complex?

A

Ashem

Difference between borderline personality disorder and borderline personality complex?

Hey guys,

I'll keep this as brief as possible. Around 5 years ago I saw a psychiatrist about some trauma-related issues from the past and how they were affecting my relationship at the time (fyi we're still together). At the time, for reasons I can't remember, I didn't bother to look at what he'd written in my referral notes, however upon discovering them recently I noticed that he'd written "I'm of the belief that she is suffering a borderline personality complex".
I'm just curious to know if anybody else has come across this term before? I have a bachelor degree in psych and have never come across this. Is it just that at the time I was possibly displaying some of the traits of a person with bpd without actually qualifying for a full diagnosis? Not once was it mentioned that I had bpd, and the psychologist I was referred to treated me with cbt and exposure therapy for some of the triggers I was experiencing (more like you would for PTSD).
I believe I'm currently in a rather healthy place in terms of my relationships with people and consider myself a fairly consistent and placid person, albeit a little introverted.
I can't seem to find any literature on this topic and it's kinda doing my head in as silly as that sounds. Any thoughts/knowledge would be eternally appreciated.

Thanks!

AliceinWonderland

AliceinWonderland

Staff Member on Leave
:welcome: Ashem