Diagnosed with Avoidant Personality Disorder, can you help..?

S

shado

Hello :)

I feel a little selfish cos I'm not good at talking to people and even when I want to post back to people I feel too embarrassed and I don't and yet here I am in need of help and starting a post.. so I am sorry but I have no one else to ask ..

I am 35 I have struggled all my life and the other week I was in a dark place, and my doctor called my mental health place to get an emergency appointment with someone and the guy I saw sat there and asked me so many questions and then basically told me that I dont have depression I have a personality disorder, he said an Avoidant anxious one and that talking to someone isn't going to help, meds are not going to help.. and I need to work hard and push myself out of my comfort zone and start getting back into the world..
( I am a recluse, I have no life, no friends .. just me and my animals living upstairs in my mum's house who I rarely talk to aswell)

I have just been put with an occupational therapist, and the guy I saw said that's all I need.. work with her to get back out an get a job, I haven't worked for ten years now,