• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Depression from unemployment

J

Jess Day

Hello, so i would say i've been mildly depressed since end-2019 mainly from unemployment. its been 2 years since i graduated from university with a master's degree, but still could not get a graduate job in a country that is not my home country. i had complications due to the pandemic, i was initially barred from leaving my home country eventhough i had a valid visa to stay inside the UK with my husband. when i finally got to reunite with my husband and settled my visa problems, it feels like i still couldn't shake off the last challenge of getting a job. i'm now unemployed for 16 months, and its hard having to receive rejections one after another. i have been applying to jobs every day. last month i got rejected from a job offer after my second interview, and it was devastating. the employer basically gave an excuse of "tight competition". i didnt really want to go through the entire job application process again. some days feel slow and i feel empty, like today. i finally got myself into a volunteering role to help with my unemployment, yet even that is going slow. i've not been given any work to do and its been 2 weeks since i started. i've not been invited to any interviews for a month. i now have breakdowns every few weeks from my predicament. i can't help but feel i'm behind in my life. 26 years old and no career. my husband has been supportive for me, but we know theres not much he can do. i don't know what to feel or what to do anymore. hope someone can help me with advice. Thank you.

MeAndMyDepression

MeAndMyDepression