• Welcome! If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Depressed partner- seeking advice

L

Lorraine489

Hi, I’m new to this forum and come seeking advice please.
My partner suffers from depression and has done for around 15 years. He recognises that he is depressed and from the things he tells me (even though I’m not an expert) it does feel that is the case. I think he may also have underlying mental health issues that contribute to him feeling the way he does but he will not seek professional help. I have tried to talk to him about getting help without being pushy and some days he is receptive to the idea but it is very short lived and we are soon back to square 1. Has anyone had any experience with someone that won’t get help and how did you deal with it please? I know it is absolutely his choice so I’m not looking to make him do anything that he doesn’t want to, but is there anything I can do to help him from home? Thanks.

tabris

tabris