• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Depot injection/Community treatment order

D

Decco

Hi guys, i'm new so any replies will be greatly appreciated. :)
Basically i'm 24 and was diagnosed with schizophrenia on my first admission to hospital in 2010. After being sectioned for the third time and continuing to not take oral medication i was put on a depot injection and a community treatment order. I am now on 75mg of paliperidone every month. Although i was experiencing strange thoughts/ delusions i have never heard voices, never self harmed, am motivated, keep myself clean ect. and haven't experienced these kind of thoughts since my last hospitalization more than a year ago. I am also studying the second year of an undergraduate maths course, which is hard since i was sectioned at the end of my first year.
The medication i'm on is giving me unwanted side effects which in turn is causing my mood to be constantly low and since my community treatment order is being considered for renewal(already renewed once) in February i'm finding concentrating on anything else is becoming increasingly difficult.
I have never really spoke about the strange thoughts that i was having to my CPN/psychiatric doctor before and was wondering if anyone had any advice as to how to approach the situation with them as i feel that the medication does nothing for me but they will most likely view this as lack of insight into my illness.
Like i said any advice or similar experiences will be greatly appreciated. thanks :unsure:

BillFish

BillFish

Hi guys, i'm new so any replies will be greatly appreciated. :)