• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

delusions

C

codedry

Hi I am new to all this!

I am 27 and have been ill since feb.
I am having delusions but i think that they are really.
how do you tell if its a memory or :confused:a delusion.

A

Apotheosis

Hello & Welcome to the site :welcome:

With reality testing; challenging thoughts, gaining perspective & self awareness, & trying to think in terms of different ideas, perspectives, & realising the multi faceted nature of things. For example - whatever the idea is - think; well, this may be happening, or it may not, what else could be happening? is it possible that something else could be going on here - that type of thinking.

I find it helps to try to separate out things. Was I under the influence of alcohol or a drug at the time? Was I under stress? Was I very tired? Do others corroborate what I think happened?

When we have insight into a delusion, then it is no longer a delusion. When we realise that we are mad, we are no longer quite so mad. Paradoxically, the truly insane believe that they are totally sane.

Why do some gain insight & others don't? I don't know.

Last edited:
A

Apotheosis

Gosh so well expalined Apotheosis
I don't know?

I find the subject fascinating, & if people are allowed to work though things, & explore things, then I think that they can gain insight. I have met & chatted to some though, who are totally fixed in certain delusional ideas; nothing will sway them. No argument, reasoning or perspective. Usually people, who in many other ways are well, & recovering. I don't know why that is. I have been in some highly delusional states. I gain insight & come out of those states, usually as quickly as I have gone into them.

The question of what is & isn't delusional is also an interesting one.

S