• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Cross Roads

E

ettiene.dyer

I am at a serious cross roads and I have to make a choice. I have been putting off this choice for many years. Essentially, the choice is to either no longer participate in mental health forums or chat rooms or completely change the way I interact in such environments.

I am at a level of intellectual knowledge in my understanding of psychosis and mental health in general that is far from the mainstream. When I attempt to put in writing or vocalize what I know, I am met with nothing but opposition and arguments. It has caused me to do one of two things: 1) Press the evidence even further 2) Back down to avoid stress and conflict -- often it is number 2. Something has got change.

[h=2]Drugs[/h] Essentially I know enough about the drugs, especially for psychosis (the anti-psychotic variety) that to tell people to get on them is unconscionable to me. At the same time I know of treatments, a variety of them, that tend to have better results or comparable results with out drugs. If I even mention the dangers of the drugs in a forum or chat room starts a conflict with the Moderators or Operators of such sites which usually leads to a ban. Anyone that can read the inserts that come with these drugs, should know how dangerous they are. But there is more to it than that – its what they don't reveal that is worse. Brain and nervous system damage, shorter life expectancy, addiction, withdrawal, organ failure, severe illnesses such as diabetes, and instant death in some cases. To not discuss this is essentially standing around while people are murdered and maimed.