• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Contamination fears

jay93

jay93

Hi, I'm new to this but I really need help/advice. I have really bad contamination fears and tonight my anxiety is just through the roof! My main fears involve poo/vomit and basically the pavements these days are DESTROYED in dog poo and I can't begin to explain how distressed I am. I have a really big issue with shoes and I cant allow anyone near my house with shoes, I make my kids take their shoes off on the door step, I'm literally terrified someone will have stepped in poo and it'll contaminate my whole home and we'll get seriously ill! My kids were out playing today and yesterday and I kept thinking they'd step in poo, I kept watching them at the window and telling them to make sure they watch where they step etc. I was so paranoid. When it was time for them to come in, I got their dad to check their shoes before they stepped into the house and one of them had got poo on their shoe!!! I now feel completely contaminated and disgusting even though my partner cleaned the shoe. I keep thinking what would've happened it we hadn't checked the kids shoes. I now don't even want to let the kids leave the house incase it happens again. I already try avoid visitors coming over because I worry they might not remove their shoes and then my home will be contaminated. I've tried really hard to face my fears and allow people into my home with shoes but anytime I do, I end up freaking out and the second they leave I scrub the floor, change everyone's socks/slippers, wash all doormats, anything that could've come into contact with the shoes!! I worry that it's going to affect my kids seeing me freak out about this sort of thing because I don't see other parents reacting like this over dog poo on shoes, I see ot