• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

CBT, Counselling/Support

tH@l35

[email protected]

Hi, I haven't posted in a while but could really do with some support. My name's John, I recently turned 21 and I am a student hoping to start Uni in September 2010. I should be happy but I am constantly depressed and socially anxious, I take 100mg Sertraline daily and I am on a waiting list to see an NHS therapist for CBT.
I want to ask anyone reading this if they have had CBT, or joined a support group, or even gone to a private therapist, and if so what is your experience of it? Beneficial/unhelpful? Please tell me as I have been waiting months now and I don't know how much longer I can go on with nothing but pills for support. I have zero friends and I can't talk to family about this and I know bottling all my thoughts and stress up inside me only makes things worse.

So please if anyone could just lend their support in whatever form it may just save my life. Also, any students reading this, if so how on earth do you cope? Please get in touch.

John.

lehcar24

lehcar24

Hi John xx

I recently went to the doctors and was gonna be reffered to CBT, i was also put on sertraline but they didnt really agree with me and whilst i was waiting for my CBT appointment my doctor called me to tell me im goin to be assessed first to get a full diagnosis cos i have many things wrong! lol

so i know none of the above helps jus wanted you to know ur not alone.. i get the whole no one to talk to thing as i am in the same boat im not even sure if i will be able to talk to professionals as im rubbish at speakin out! and i know its killin me.. i feel like im gonna burst!!