• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Can't stop restricting

Desdemona

Desdemona

Hi everyone.
So, back in June I decided I wanted to lose weight. I was clinically obese and very uncomfortable in my skin because of it. I have engaged in disordered eating patterns in the past, and was worried that any attempts to control my diet would result in relapse.
Well, I was right. The restriction went too far almost immediately and I've been under-eating consistently for the last six months. I haven't engaged in purging (so far) and have no urges to binge at all, which is weird. Moreover, the reasons I am doing this are strange. I'm currently at a healthy weight, and I think I look good. I don't really want to lose any more, but I'm addicted to the hunger.
I'm not anxious and I don't feel out of control in my life. But I can't stop. I can't even slow down. I've never experienced anything like this and I'm scared.
For the first time in my life, I don't want to die, and I'm heading straight for it with no brakes.
This is long.
I keep thinking about trying to get help, but I talk myself out of it, because I feel like I don't really want to give it up.
I need this suffering to keep me strong.
I suffered so long with depression etc., that now that it's gone, I made up a new source and I don't know how to be "okay".
I don't know what I'm looking for here, I just wanted to tell someone, I guess. Thanks for reading.

A

Am33

Well from what I understand our minds work like a computer with programming . One program is to overeat and to overcome that you created another program to under eat .Just being aware they aren't the real you just programs that helps to stop putting your attention ( energy ) into them so they don't have control over you quit popping up in your mind.

bpd2020