• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Can't cope with work.

B

bex2502

Hello, I am 23 years old and have suffered with anxiety and depression since around 14. I have been working full time for the last 3 years. Over the last year I have found it more and more difficult to cope with working. I find myself hating it and never wanting to go. All i really want to do is quit but I'm scared of what will happen as i live on my own. I have been on and off medication for years as I always end up forgetting to take my meds. I make appointments with my GP but never stick to them as i feel like I am wasting their time what with stopping and starting meds. I wish i had never been born but know i wouldn't harm myself as i am too scared. I have bad mood swings and have wondered if i have an undiagnosed condition as well. I haven't seen a psychiatrist since I was about 18.
Sorry for the lengthy post but i appreciate any help or advice anyone can give me.

SomersetScorpio

SomersetScorpio

Welcome to the forum.

First of all, I think you know that not keeping appointments probably isn't good.
Even if you don't particularly want to follow a GP's advice, I think it's worth continuing to see them so that they have a record of how much you're struggling.
I think that professionals presume that if they don't hear from you then you're ok - and that's not always the case.
With regards to medication - I wouldn't want to pressure you either way. But I do think that you need to make a decision whether or not you want to take them, and stick to it.
Do you find that you genuinely forget? Or is it something else?
I have found a pill organiser (with little boxes for each day of the week) helps give me a visual cue to remind me to take my meds.