• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Can you be bipolar and never diagnosed?

M

Manda

I'm only asking because at 54 my new boyfriend, who isn't really fazed by it, and my half real sister I found through an adoption site said she thinks I am, and that there is a family history of it.
My two closest friends have also said ups and downs are noticeable. I spend more money than I can when giddy, but take sleeping tablets and hide when low.

Fairy Lucretia

Fairy Lucretia

my BF was only diagnosed with bipolar last year ,but he suspects he has suffered from it for many years so i would say yes it is possible x but im not an expert if you are concerned please see a doctor
love Lu x

M

Manda

I don't think it's any more than part of who I am. Sometimes I reckon the labels make other people happy.
I've refused NHS services since I was 20, just because of bad psychiatrists, I saw since being about 7. Labels are long gone for me, but I think my boyfriend would like one.

Wishbone

Wishbone

Hi Manda. People can obviously hide things very well but just because there are fluctuations doesn't mean you have a disorder, and just because it's in the family doesn't mean you have, or will get it, either. I've seen enough documentaries to know that people have been diagnosed at your age, possibly even older, but I would wonder about how problematic things have been for you, as you would expect that this would have caused you significant problems by now if it was Bipolar. So I guess the question is, have their been significant problems through your life that you could put down to mood changes, or periods when you've acted completely out of character?

daffy

daffy

Founding Member
Staff Member on Leave