• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Can past experiences really trigger new anxiety??

L

laural98

Hi all, if any of you have spoken to me or seen me posting know that my anxiety experience is fairly new and happened very suddenly.

The past couple of weeks I’ve been trying to think about what may have triggered it so suddenly for example; stresses of my job and bad experiences driving.

Im a fairly new driver (passed in may) and had someone crashed into the side of me a month later. Soon after that someone else crashed into the back of me at a roundabout when I was already stopped. Again after this, my car was egged while I was driving and it cracked my window. These events happened a couple of months ago now and dealt with them Pretty well, or so I thought.

I experienced the start of my first panic attack in my car driving home in the dark. It took me a while to get back into the car but I do it with no problem. However when I was driving earlier tonight, all I could think about was how tense I was all of a sudden, my face went tight and that pressure in my chest came flooding back like the first time. I was having a pretty good day for first time in ages and now I just feel on edge again. Ughhhh.

Is it the Car That has triggered my anxiety? Or am I overthinking this? What are everyone’s thoughts?

sorry for the long ramble x

jajingna

jajingna