• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Bullying at Work - passive-aggressive colleague.

E

echelon

Am I being bullied at work?

I'm a qualified nurse and I work in a private care home. I have been there for approximately 8 months. I am 40 years old.

I have forged good relationships with my colleagues and I'm communicative, cheerful and helpful towards people.

However, there is a problem......

One of the care assistants. She is 60 years old and has been there for quite a few years now. She's in reasonable health and has no problems doing her job.

She has caused problems for quite a few people over the years and has managed to reduce people to tears and a few have left the job because of her.

She ignores/blanks people, makes sarcastic remarks and puts people down, she makes a point of being very pleasant to others, but then blatantly ignores her target. She is offhand, unfriendly, creates an atmosphere and is intimidating some of the other care assistants to the point where they daren't be seen to be working with the target for fear of her response.

I wanted to bathe one of the bedbound residents a few days ago, but she was adamant that I wasn't going to do this. She made a few snide remarks then took over the bathroom to bathe a resident just when I needed it to bathe my resident.

When this person had left the bathroom, I went in to run the bath only to find that the bathchair over the bath had been broken! We examined it and one of the other carers came to the conclusion that it had been forced out of position. It had been fine prior to this woman using it and I think that she'd done it on purpose just to prevent me from bathing my resident. Paranoid? Perhaps, but I honestly think that she could be abusive/dangerous given the right situation.