• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

BPD My Before and Process to Healing

greeneverve

greeneverve

Hello all! I'm new here, but I am a veteran when it comes to knowing my borderline personality disorder and bipolar disorder comorbid diagnoses. I have had quite the journey, which has been painful, beautiful, ugly, resentful... words are not enough. Yet they are. I began my journey two years ago, shortly after I began seeing my now-fiancee, then-boyfriend. I had displayed all of the signs of BPD for as long as I could remember--I was a little boy when I first noticed the signs. I had the hallmarks: sexual promiscuity, emotional disregulation, impulsivity, and the worst (in my honest opinion): fear of abandonment. My journey began when I was sexually abused when I was three and compounded when my father would abuse me in my adolescent years. My mother was always working and was never around--my father has all of the signs of BPD but chooses to live in ignorant bliss. I would fight like hell for safety and security, assured by healthy individuals who thought I was resilient... they were wrong to a fault. I was resilient to physically hurting others, but I would engage in some of the same tactics that my father would use against my mother. I did this for 26 years and did not know why others were not overwhelmed by their emotions. I was curious as to how others could be the "cool customers" and process difficult circumstances. I was jealous, but I felt what I was experiencing was normalcy. I knew I had issues. Anorexia, Bulimia-Nervosa, anxious/RACING thoughts, feelings which were unstable, and paranoia constitutive of inpatient mental health treatment. Quite simply put: I was living in ignorant bliss similar to my father's ignorance.