• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

BPD and work

M

Madeleine95

Hi, I'm just wondering if anyone else is in the same position as me when it comes to working and if anyone has any advice?

I have been doing DBT two days a week for 3 months now, and although I see small improvements I'm nowhere near ready to leave and work full time. I need to work part time because I'm not entitled to any benefits but find it really stressful even applying for fear of rejection. I'm not good with crowded places or meeting new people so interviews are hard too! It feels like I'm being forced into work because my parents are my only source of income and they can't afford it much longer. Could I have some advice on how to speak to my parents without causing argument, or how to deal with stressful work situations?

Thanks, Madeleine

StillFighting

StillFighting

Hi, I don't have much time right now for a proper reply, but I wanted to give you a short one and let you know I'm in a similar position. I'll get back to you later with my thoughts :)

T

Tiddle

Hi, can I ask why you aren't entitled to any benefits? Even if you don't qualify for esa or pip you should still be able to get jobseekers allowance or income support something like that.

Some kind of benefit may take the pressure off until you have completed dbt or you could dive straight in while you have the dbt support system to go ahead and try for a part time job so they can be there to help you with the difficulties that may arise.

M

Madeleine95

Hi still fighting, that'll be great thanks.