• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Both sides of the fence

S

satrah

Hi All

This is my first post for this forum, I'm guessing you know why I am at this site and how I got to be here . Mental health issues have plagued family and with the suicide of my brother it hit home in a bad way. Breaking free from alcoholism was a big step for me and now participates in a lot of community advents when I have the strength to, very hard. Studying at university has been another one of these steps to becoming a better me. I am currently studying Occupational Therapy and its main focus is on meaning full activities in all settings of life (In a nut shell). As a student i find this degree highly disturbing at the way mental health issues are labeled and don't know if this is my mind playing tricks on me, as i sit in the lecture room think that everything that they are talking about is directed at me in a personal way.. Other student do not know of my condition and as a result i feel isolated from peer support and don't know if I can handle it if I tell them and they still look at me as different. On countless time I want to kill myself in the lecture room, this feeling last about 2 days. At best it is a sick feeling in the chest and stomach that will not go away. Bad thoughts that are random with on control, I do not wish to discuss on this forum. Being a 35 year male in a female dominated degree were the average age of student are 18 also makes it hard, adding pressure on studies. Sitting on both sides of the fence has enlighten me about what goes on in the background of mental health and how future students are shaped to turn in to health professional.

I do get a great deal of enjoyment from my studies and will keep you all posted on progress.