• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Bipolar spouse never rests

E

Emmagal123

Hello, this is my first time posting on a public group such as this. My husband has bipolar type 1 and is strict with taking his medication (though not so much with therapy or exercise unfortunately). He has rapid cycling so lots of ups and downs and can be quite exhausting at times. He is never happy with where we are or what we have in life, always has to be planning the next BIG thing. We have young children right now and there is nothing I would love more than for him to slow down and be present but he just can’t seem to do that. On the outside we have the perfect life but on the inside we can’t enjoy it because I never know if we are moving or staying or selling or buying or up or down…. When I resist or push back on his next big plan because I just want some stability he gets upset and acts like I am the most evil person of all. I am just getting so tired of the same pattern over and over again. Does this sound familiar to anyone else out there in internet land?

B

BlueWater

Sounds familiar from friends of friends who deal with this with their spouses or siblings. Your husband's meds may not be right or he needs different talk therapy. He may need a different strategy altogether. This isn't fair to you or your kids.

B

BlueWater

Does he take a mood stabilizer? Lamotrigine helps me. No, I do not have a bipolar diagnosis, but mood stabilizers work for a variety of people. Mine evens my moods which were changing rapidly and in extremes everyday. It's not perfect but I do see myself better and do my best not to make others feel evil because I don't get what I want.

Amazingly

Amazingly

Hi @Emmagal123
My diagnosis is Bipolar type 1 and bottom line, I need my meds. I’m a rapid Cycler also.
Sounds like your husband may need a medication adjustment.