• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Bipolar II Meds

carpediem

carpediem

Founding Member
What meds work for you if you have been diagnosed with bipolar II? I have been on nothing but antidepressants for twenty years and have had twenty years of ups and major downs and changes and increased dosages and hospitalization blah, blah, blah. I have been doing well on effexor for at least five years but was recently going downhill...fast. New doctor sends me to psychiatrist who diagnoses me as bipolar II. He has actually asked me to research mood stabilizers (he gave me a list) and when I go back we are going to decide what I want to try. ( I've never had a doc who actually values my opinion and input like this!) He says once I adjust to the new type of medicine, he will slowly take me off effexor (which I hear is easier said than done). Has anyone had a similar experience to mine. I value your thoughts.

Kos

Kos

Hey!! That's very similar to me!!!

I was diagnosed with depression at 16, and have been on a different variety of antidepressants the last 11 years, fluoxetine, effexor, citalopram, escitalopram.

I tried an anit-psychotic last summer called abilify which is fairly new on the market, but not because I had been diagnosed bipolar, but because I had severe body dysmorphia disorder, I ended up not taking it, and entered into an episode of hypomania - I'd had 3 or 4 of these before but never mentioned it to the psychiatrist as I didn't even know it was happening.