• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

We are an actively moderated forum. We work hard to keep the forum safe.

To access many more features and forums please register now

Bipolar and working

Jess96

Jess96

Hi so it’s been a year since my diagnosis, I’ve always been high functioning through my struggles until my breakdown last year I’m 24 and I’m a manager I worked very hard to get here,
But I can’t seem to get back to a stable place where I can manage will normal life stresses without wanting to kill my self.
I don’t want to give up my job and lifestyle but I’m wondering if I can work anymore everything seams too much my concentration is not there.
What do I do has anyone felt this way stuck between wanting to work and have a nice life but also want to give up

daffy

daffy

Founding Member
You’ve done well to become a manager at such a young age. Are you getting any help either medicated or therapy. Does your workplace know you have had a breakdown because it may be worth talking to your HR department to see if theres any support they can give you

N

Notalwaysever

I had to change career as my illness changed over the years. I was a restaurant manager, the hours and stress were just too much for me, looking back I don’t know how I ever did it. You might not ever to change much, if anything, maybe just work a few less hours until you get stable again. I don’t know what type of manager you are but I found having to deal with everyone’s problems was just not for me anymore.

Jess96

Jess96