• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Bipolar and me

L

louloupop

Hello everyone..im new to this an new to bipolar!
i have been on meds for about 7 months now (800mg priadel an 50mg seroquel). i feel like it just isn't making a differents I don't know if everyone feels this way at the start???i feel crazy high then crash back down :grouphug:.....im so fed up of having this now.i had a bad drug problem but have been clean for 8 months i still drink alot which makes things sometimes worst an sometimes better.i act like everything is ok when i speak to the 100s of different doctors i see..but i know if i tell them everything i think they will put me away.soooo im unsure an turn to you..do we all think the same?? thank you xxx

emski

emski

I'm sorry to hear you are having a hard time. I too had a long time before things became 'stable' for me, all to do with getting the balance right, which I might lose sometimes now, but on the whole. There is acceptance, getting the meds 'right', psychological help, friends & family, peer support, sleep, diet, exercise, self-help, relaxation & recreation, alcohol, social factors (housing, work, education) - so many factors. After my diagnosis I was on 'bipolar meds' for a year that weren't working before they got totally changed - its wasn't just about them though it was about making changes to my lifestyle, social and work life that contributed to things getting better.

I would say, however, that if you are not feeling right then you need to be as honest as you can about that - that doesn't mean you will be hospitalised.

Hope this helps :hug:

L

louloupop