• Share. Be Supported. Recover.

We are a friendly, safe community supporting each other's mental health. We are open 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Best Advice....

Blackdog69

Blackdog69

I've suffered for nearly thirty years with Depression. I had the attitude of just keep on going you will feel crap but just get out there.
Now my mind set has changed when I am good "up top" I will try to get as much as I can out of the days I have off, do things enjoy my life when I have the confidence & relaxed outlook. :clap:
When not so good "up top" I am not going to put pressure on myself just do what I need to do to get through which is really difficult let me tell you.:cry:
What's your advice when the good times roll or the dark clouds descend!!...:scratcheshead:

Unique1

Unique1

Hi.

I've only been fully aware of my MI for a couple of years, after a melt down, and I'm still learning. Although like you, I tend to fit as much as possible in on good days, or at least do something, maybe make that phone call I've been dreading but it needs to be made.
on bad days now, I try not to beat myself up about it and go with it more. I do my best to use it to be kind to myself if I can, I wouldn't say it always works but I'm sure it helps that I'm not fighting it or putting myself down because It's not possible for me to do anything on those days.

Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
R IS it for the best? Advice please!!!!! Depression Forum 4
T My best friend and I are having issues because of my PTSD Depression Forum 1
nenexx Best song for depression! Depression Forum 2
C I lost my mother a girl i was dating and my best friend Depression Forum 1
Bezerker Best way to relax before sleeping Depression Forum 5
U I hate being told to make the best of how things are, when things can be better Depression Forum 7
M Its hard when you hope for the best that doesn't come Depression Forum 6
jajingna Do you have a worst or best time of day? Depression Forum 10