• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

At the centre of a person's paranoid ideas

I

itsmeagain

Hi.
I work in a hospital and am again at the very heart of a person's paranoid ideas.
Person thinks I ruined her life, known me all her life, not possible due to age etc,.. Can anyone relate? How to ease the paranoia?
What would you do?

OmniscientNihilist

OmniscientNihilist

ACCOUNT CLOSED
Hi.
I work in a hospital and am again at the very heart of a person's paranoid ideas.
Person thinks I ruined her life, known me all her life, not possible due to age etc,.. Can anyone relate? How to ease the paranoia?
What would you do?
you have to ignore the fake parts of their mind. for example when living with someone with bipolar a person has to learn to ignore their moods. because most of them are not related to anything real. so you dont interact with them in the same way as a normal person whose brain is more wired to the external events of real reality. the mentally ill persons brain is manufacturing states that are not a response to real external things.

so you tune that out. and just respond to them more like you would a little child. you treat them with respect and sanity but at the same time ignore alot of what they are saying and doing and feeling etc... let them have it but dont feed it.

when im in a very bad bipolar mood i dont want anyone engaging with that mood thats coming from me. it helps me alot if people just ignore it. if they engage with these fake moods it makes it worse.

H

Hell00justme