Asking the Doctor for help.

U

upanddown

Hi. I'm new so I hope this is in the right place...seemed like the most sensible place to put it.
Basically, I'm needing to head back to the doctors and ask for help for the billionth time as things are very bad at the moment and I need to get something fixed. I'm diagnosed with depression, but have gone through various doctors, meds and therapy sessions since I was a young teen which have not worked, and I am sure that there is something more than that (namely some level of Bipolar, due to manic episodes I sometimes have). I'm changing doctor and asking them for help, effectively as a last call.
As a writer I'm better at getting my message across through writing than structuring a conversation out of the fractured points I'll get out through speech. However I've written everything the doctor needs to know (ie everything which needs to be said on or off paper) and it's a few pages long, and I fear I'd look stupid if I went in with sheets of paper and asked her to read through it and comment along the way. I just feel that for me, it's the easiest and most efficient way of getting everything across without mumbling my way through some sort of explanation.

Has anyone else gone in with, effectively, a letter to their Doctor, and did they take you seriously? Any help would be accepted with huge gratitude! :unsure:

M

Maisy

Hi upanddown, and :welcome: to the forum.

I saw my new psychiatrist last Friday, and took in 4 sides of A4 plus a sheet I'd printed off the Internet!

She asked me to read my notes, and asked to keep them at the end.
You have very limited time with these people, and I think taking prepared notes is very effective.
I was given excellent advice, and am not sure the outcome would have been the same if I had just rambled on about whatever happened to be passing through my mind at that moment.

Take care. Maisy

M

Maisy