Are you ready to do regular work?

Kerome

Kerome

Here’s a question for you all: how do you know whether you are ready to go back to work, and whether you are able to do a certain job? I’m finding it difficult to answer this one.

Currently I’m doing a series of job interviews, and its for quite a demanding job, involving difficult technical questions, some performance pressure, responsibility for the work of others. So I’m finding it difficult to assess whether I’m ready to take it on, and I realise it’s the kind of job that would be challenging for a fully healthy person.

I’ve tried to do some tests and assessments, and they show that as a logical thinker I’m still quite sharp, and I have a lot of experience. But also that my ability to concentrate for sustained periods of time is not there yet - this could be rust or medication effects - and that my memory is not as sharp as I would like it to be.

It’s quite a serious question because if you do it and you break down due to stress or another episode, you may well end up being worse off than you were before.

So it’s a quandary... how would you approach something like this? How have you in the past made a choice for what kind of job to go for?

Last edited:
Not_Crazy_Yet

Not_Crazy_Yet