• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

are there any good mental health nurses out there?

G

goldfish

Founding Member
I am a mental health nurse teacher and mental health service user. I am carrying out research (with a local university) to find out what service users see as being characteristics of good mental health nurses they have met. Any comments, stories, or experiences would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

D

Dollit

Hi Goldfish - I've moved your thread to a more appropriate place as How to Use the Forum isn't the best spot for this sort of discussion. Could you send me a private message with some details of the University you are doing the research with and who your supervisor is as we need to know who we are talking to! Thanks

D

Dollit

Thanks for verifying your details goldfish.

I have had two positive experiences with Mental Health nurses, the latter being the better one.

The first nurse was kind and listened and helped by teaching me how to breathe and how to do a neck massage on myself to help relieve tension (which I still do 17 years later). His only fault was that he didn't listen to my experience. I had just stopped drinking but I knew, as I had known all my life that I had a mental health problem - it was part of the reason why I drank. So he insisted that the symptom was the cause not that the cause effected the symptom and it was partly because of this that I didn't get my bipolar diagnosis for another 3 years. A little trust in my intelligence and self-knowledge would have been good.