• Welcome! It’s great to see you.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

Anyone drink alot?

Dave.P

Dave.P

I'm new to this, so please be gentle.
I've had rapid cycling bipolar for 4 yrs. It's changed alot, as have I, but my alcohol level has stayed the same. 8-10 cans of beer or 3 bottles of wine a night. It does help me sleep (of course) but that's not why I drink. I think it's boredom. I Stay awake til 4am most nights and being drunk curbs those crazy thoughts, feelings and actions. I wish I could hone my BP and channel it into something creative. But I don't or can't. I'm even bored of booze!
I know it doesn't help my meds or my moods or anything really. I just like that safe place at night, nothing challenging. It's like my fantasy world. Those few hours every night where I can sup and puff and slip away from Dave.P
Booze gave me gout last week so I feel a right ninny about it!
Any ideas?
Many thanks. Dave.P

E

emoatnight

Hey Dave

Hey there I too have bipolar disorder and i used to drink a similar amount to yourself but i gradually increased and ended uup giving myself alcohol poisining which trust me wasnt fun lol. With drink as long as it isnt effecting your life outside eg socially, work related, education etc it shouldnt be a problem as long as you stick to a similar amount but if it feels like you are needing more alcohol then its time to back off. About your creativity i play guitar so maybe you could think about taking up a musical instrument, possible go along to a local art course or creative writing these are just some suggestions but there are a lot of things out there to try.

jax

jax