• Welcome! It’s great to see you. Our forum members are people, maybe like yourself, who experience mental health difficulties or who have had them at some point in their life.

If you'd like to talk with people who know what it's like

Anxious about Job Search/Interviewing

A

Anxious4Days

The last six months have been a very stressful period in my life due to my current job being drastically influenced by the COVID pandemic. I work in a molecular diagnostics laboratory that has since shifted the majority of its focus to conducting coronavirus testing. The constant reminder of the extent of the pandemic as represented by the number of patient samples we are receiving has been weighing very heavily on me, so I have been applying for new jobs for several months. I've finally gotten a handful of interviews lined up over the next couple of weeks, and initially I was really energized and excited by the opportunity to interview. But now my mood has flip-flopped almost entirely, and I am now finding myself in fits of tears multiple times a day worrying about how devastated I'm going to be if none of these opportunities work out. How should I cope? The job search process is very long and the slowness of everything is only making things more difficult for me. The interviewing process is stressful enough without me feeling that this is a really high-stakes situation based on my current dissatisfaction at work. I'd be very appreciative of any advice.

C

Craig85r